Skip to content

Istanbul -17 °C ?

January 26, 2010

I’m in Istanbul working on a shoot for the first Turkish issue of Vogue. Before the meeting I walked around in Bebek.
Aunt Emine caught my attention while she passed by with a bag full of cooked chicken. She walked to a dog house to feed a dog she had helped through the winter. While feeding she talked about how she ‘s also taking care of her grandson who’s an architect and who lost both his parents in a timespan of 18 months. He’s still angry she says but if he would just get married at least I don’t have to worry about him that much.

Tomorrow I’m invited to a lunch at the Dutch Consulate at the Istiklal street. Just before I go there I always jump inside my favourite bookstore, Robinson Crusoe. I know there are better stores to by photography books but I still like the vibe of this place. It’s the place I sold my first book, “Gurbetçi”. And I always get some discount maybe that’s why I like it as well 🙂

Cafe Nero is taking over Istanbul with a storm.
Every morning I’m drinking my coffees at Neros’. It’s very addictive.
Especially when I meet up with my good friend Innes and we start talking.
It’s almost impossible to get out of that place.

From → News

2 Comments
  1. Husne Afsar permalink

    Turkish Vogue?! Hurray! Wish you good luck with your shoot. PS: Next time if you go to that bookstore, you should walk in Pasabahce (across the street) too: they sell beautiful, beaútiful old Turkish home asseccories 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Istanbul -17 °C ? « Ahmet Polat – Photographer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

